Elementary Functions

Elementary functions

Realization of operators for Exponential, Logarithm, Sine, Cosine, Tangent, inverse Tangent, inverse Sine relying on additions/subtractions and shifts. The shifts cost and delay is negligible since they are wired. The additions/subtractions can be carry-propagation free.

 

cost

max. delay

addition/subtraction/shift

n2

n

table reading (ROM)

n × 2n

log2(n)

A table reading (ROM) would usually be faster, but the table size, and consequently the cost, grows exponentially with the number of bit demanded for the precision. Nevertheless the table partition reduces this size.

From a bread loaf weighting to the exponential computation

We want to compute X = exp ( Y ), we have available a scale, a white bread whose weight is actually just Y and a set of weights with values log(1 + 2-j ). The weighting is classical and requires (Nb. weights  1) addition to approximate the bread's weight Y. The weights values are such that to compute the exponential of this approximation of Y requires also one extra addition per weight.
A weight put down on the right plate (the bread's one) has it value changed into -log(1  2-j ). Thank to this trick, the weighting can be restoring, non-restoring or "SRT".

Carry propagation free division for exponential

The scale is replaced by a "SRT" divider whose "Robertson's diagram" is drawn below.

"SRT" divider for exponential

The constants log(1 + 2-j ) and -log(1  2-j ) fed into the "tail" cells are wired . Thus there are 4 variants for the cell according to the values of the two bits.

Operations of a slice of "SRT" divider for exponential

The value of each qj is selected by a "head" cell according to j , the weighted sum of the two most significant digits r1 and r0 of the representation of the partial remainder Rj.

  • if j > 0 then { qj = '1' ; s0 = j 1 ; Rj+1 = Rj + log(1  2-j ) }// subtraction
  • if j = 0 or j = - 0.5 then { qj = '0' ; s0 = j ; Rj+1 = Rj + 0 } // identity
  • if j < - 0.5 then { qj = '-1' ; s0 = j + 1 ; Rj+1 = Rj + log(1 + 2-j ) } //addition

Sequence of pseudo multiplications

The sequence of conditional multiplications by 1, by (1 + 2-j ) or by (1  2-j ) requires only one final carry propagation thanks to "CS" adders and to wired shifts. The "CS" additions are truncated to 2n +1 digits, of whom three before the decimal point. The third most significant digit (on the left) is the sign. Although the intermediate results are all positive, doing subtraction in "CS" sometimes lead to unresolved signs. The final result at the bottom must be converted from "CS" to standard binary (a subtraction). The colored window makes it easy to compare the "real" multiplication result (without truncation) and the circuit output (with truncation)

"ME" cell

The "ME" cell derives from the add cell "CS" fitted with an extra input "qj" to control either the addition, the identity or the subtraction. Notice that the activity of the carry-in "e" never propagates to the carry-out "h".

  • if qj = '-1' then 2*co + s = eg + ed + ci // addition
  • if qj = '0' then 2*co + s = eg + ci // identity
  • if qj = '1' then 2*co + s = eg + 2 ed + ci // subtraction

Circuit for exponential computation X = exp ( Y )

A "pseudo division" ( the divider is different for each digit qj of the quotient Q ) computes Sj log(1 + qj2-j) + R = Y. A sequence of "pseudo multiplications" computes X = exp(Sj log(1 + qj2-j). The two computations run simultaneously, without carry propagation thanks to redundant notations, consequently the final result must be converted from "CS" to standard notation.

exponential computation

 Numerical example for pseudo division

The series of rational products is given by the concatenation of the quotient Q ( left ) and the final remainder R (bottom). Actually for high values of j, 2j * log(1 + 2-j ) becomes very close to 1. If the divider is close to 1, then the remainder becomes an acceptable approximation for the quotient.
The applet gives all the successive partial remainders. The dividend Y (top) must be within ] -1 , +1 [ .
  When "Nb. bits" is less than 14, there is enough room to display the involved constants log(1 ± 2-j ) (in red) as well as the partial remainders Rj value (in black). Let us recall than R is written with the digits '-1', '0' and '1'. The first digit of the constants is '1' or '-1' while the others are '1' or '0'.

Notation conversion

The stack of conditional multipliers by (1 + 2-j ) or by (1  2-j ) needs only one final carry propagation thanks to the "CS" adders and wired shifts.
  Additions are truncated to 2 n digits, two of which before the decimal point. The third most significant digit ( fully left) is the sign. Despite the fact that all partial results are positive, the execution of subtraction in "CS" sometimes brings about an unresolved sign. The final result (bottom line) must be converted from "CS" to binary by an addition (with carry propagation).
The previous circuit works with X in the range ] -1 , +1 [ . For the exponential of any number Y, Y is written Y = Q*log(8) + R, where Q is the integer quotient of the division of Y by log(8) and R < log(8) < 1. Then exp(X) = 8Q * exp(R) = 23Q * exp(R). Since exp(R) < 1, it is acceptable by the above circuit.

Logarithm and exponential



The same operator computes either the Logarithm or the Exponential with additions/subtractions (it is the same operation), shifts and constants. The constants are log(1 + 2-j ) and -log (1  2-j ) and the digits qj Î{ '-1' , '0' , '1' }. The slack selection of the digit value, which will unfortunately be missed later on for Sine and Cosine, allows to avoid all carry propagation but the final one. Clicking the vertical arrow "view" changes the presentation. The key "Reset" allows to control 'manually' the convergence.

Exponentielle et Logarithme


Fonctions élémentaires

On réalise les fonctions Exponentielle, Logarithme, Sinus, Cosinus et Arc tangente avec des additions/soustractions et des décalages fixes. Le décalage fixe est de coût et délai négligeable si l'opérateur est câblé. Les additions/soustractions sont sans propagation de retenue, donc à délai constant.

 

coût

délai max.

addition/soustraction/décalage

n2

n

lecture en table (ROM)

n × 2n

log2(n)

Une lecture en table (ROM) serait plus rapide, mais la taille de la table, donc son coût, croît exponentiellement avec le nombre de bits de précision requis. Toutefois le partitionnement de la table en réduit la taille.

De la pesée du pain à l'exponentielle

Supposons qu'on veuille calculer X = exp ( Y ). On dispose d'une balance, d'un pain dont le poids est justement Y et enfin d'une série de poids de valeur log(1 + 2-j ). La pesée est classique, la somme des poids demande (Nb. poids 1) addition. Cependant la valeur des poids est choisie pour que l'exponentielle de la somme des poids s'obtienne également avec (Nb. poids) additions. En effet la valeur de l'exponentielle est un produit de rationnels (2j + 1) / 2j . La multiplication par chacun de ces rationnels se réduit à un décalage et une addition.

 Division "SRT" pour l'exponentielle

On remplace la balance par un diviseur "SRT" dont voici le "diagramme de Robertson". Un poids sur le plateau de droite (celui du pain) change sa valeur en -log(1  2-j ). Remarquez que la droite S=R, correspondant à qj = '0', est nécessaire car sans elle il y aurait un trou.

Diviseur "SRT" pour l'exponentielle

Le dividende Y (en haut) est dans l'intervalle ] -1.0 , +1.0 [ . Les constantes log(1 + 2-j ) et -log(1  2-j ) entrant dans les cellules "tail" sont câblées . Il y a donc 4 variantes de la cellule "tail" fonction des valeurs de 2 bits.

Cellule de tête du diviseur "SRT" pour l'exponentielle

Chaque qj est choisi par une cellule "head" en fonction de j , somme pondérée des 2 chiffres poids forts r0 et r1 de l'écriture de Rj.

  • si j > 0  alors { qj = '1' ; s1 = j 1 ; Rj+1 = Rj + log(1  2-j ) }//soustraction
  • si j = 0 ou j = - 0.5  alors { qj = '0' ; s1 = j ; Rj+1 = Rj + 0 } //identité
  • si j < - 0.5  alors { qj = '-1' ; s1 = j + 1 ; Rj+1 = Rj + log(1 + 2-j ) } //addition

Suite de pseudo multiplications

La suite de multiplications conditionnelles par 1 ou (1 + 2-j ) ou (1  2-j ) nécessite une seule propagation de retenue finale grâce à des additionneurs en "CS" et des décalages câblés. Les additions en "CS" sont tronquées à 2 n chiffres, dont trois avant la virgule. Le troisième chiffre poids fort ( tout à gauche ) est le signe. Bien que les résultats partiels soient tous positifs, exécuter des soustractions en "CS" entraîne un signe parfois non résolu. Le résultat final (en bas) doit être traduit de "CS" en binaire par une addition (avec propagation). La fenêtre en bas permet de comparer le produit "vrai" des multiplications (sans troncature) au produit avec troncature.

Cellule "ME"

La cellule "ME" est une variante de la cellule d'addition "CS" avec en plus une entrée "qj" pour contrôler l'addition, la soustraction ou bien l'identité. Observer que l'activité de la retenue entrante "e" ne se propage pas vers la retenue sortante "h".

  • si qj = '-1' alors 2*co + s = eg + ed + ci // addition
  • si qj = '0' alors 2*co + s = eg + ci // identité
  • si qj = '1' alors 2*co + s = eg + 2 ed + ci // soustraction

Circuit de calcul de l'exponentielle X = exp ( Y )

Une "pseudo division" ( le diviseur est différent pour chaque chiffre qj du quotient Q ) calcule Sj log(1 + qj2-j) + R = Y. Une suite de "pseudo multiplications" calcule X = exp(Sj log(1 + qj2-j). Ces deux calculs se font simultanément, sans propagation de retenue, en redondant. En conséquence le résultat final X doit être converti de "CS" en binaire standard.

Exemple numérique de division

Ce tableau montre les restes partiels du diviseur "SRT" pour le calcul l'exponentielle. La fenêtre du bas permet de comparer la valeur "vraie" de l'exponentielle au produit de multiplications par (1 + 2-j ) ou par (1  2-j ).
  Quand "Nb. bits" est inférieur à 15, l'aplet affiche les constantes log(1 ± 2-j ) (en rouge) et les restes partiels Rj (en noir). Rapellons que R s'écrit avec les chiffres '-1', '0' et '1'. Le premier chiffre des constantes vaut '1' ou '-1' alors que les autres chiffres valent '1' ou '0'.

Exemple numérique de conversion

Ce tableau montre les résultats partiels des multiplications par (1 + 2-j ) ou par (1  2-j ) effectués par des additions sans propagation tronqués. La fenêtre du bas permet de comparer le produit "vraie" des multiplications (sans troncature) au produit avec troncature.
 Extension du domaine Le circuit précédent fonctionne pour Y dans ] -1 , +1 [ . Pour l'exponentielle d'un nombre Y quelconque, on écrit Y = Q*log(8) + R, où Q est le quotient entier de la division de Y par log(8) et R < log(8) < 1. Alors exp(Y) = 8Q * exp(R) = 23Q * exp(R). Comme exp(R) < 1, cette exponentielle est calculable par le circuit précédent.

Logarithme et exponentielle



Le même opérateur calcule le Logarithme ou l'Exponentielle avec des additions/soustraction (c'est la même opération), des décalages et des constantes. Les constantes sont log(1 + 2-j ) et -log (1  2-j ) et les chiffres q j Î{ '-1' , '0' , '1' }. Cette souplesse dans le choix des chiffres, qui fera malheureusement défaut pour Sinus et Cosinus, permet d'éviter la propagation de retenue (sauf pour l'addition finale).